WD Boyce Instagram     
Join Scouting: Visit BeAScout.org   Donate to the WD Boyce Council, BSA   Join WD Boyce Family Society


  Facebook  Twitter  YouTube  


Join Scouting: Visit BeAScout.org   Donate to the WD Boyce Council, BSA   Join WD Boyce Family Society

Matthew Thomas Stevenson Scholarship



Matt Stevenson  |  Eagle Scout  |  1993


The mission of the Matthew Thomas Stevenson Scholarship Fund is to provide higher education assistance to deserving Eagle Scouts in the W. D. Boyce Council in the form of computer and related technology. Awards are given in memory of Matt Stevenson. 


Visit the Matthew Stevenson Scholarship website.


Matt Stevenson was awarded the rank of Eagle Scout on Feb 25, 1993 in Mossville, IL. Matt continued to demonstrate the elements of the Scout Law as he proceeded through high school and college. He attended Illinois State University, where he majored in Computer Science. At the age of 23, Matt passed away as the result of leukemia, which he bravely fought for nearly two years. Close friends provided a lasting tribute to Matt's memory through the development and funding of this scholarship fund. It is an exceptional tribute that combines Matt's love of Scouting, computers, and helping others. 

How You Can Help 

If you would like to help us in this endeavor to help deserving Eagle Scouts reach their educational goals, please consider contributing to the Matthew Thomas Stevenson Scholarship Trust. All contributions are tax deductible. Please include your name and address so that we may mail you a record of your donation for tax purposes. Mail your donation to:

Benjamin F. Edwards

Attn: Art Laine

5832 N. Knoxville Avenue

Suite B

Peoria, IL 61614

Checks should be made out to: Matthew Thomas Stevenson Scholarship Trust.

Below are pictures of the 2019 scholarship recipients Braedon Wuethrich, Noah Riedle, and Benjamin Rixstine. They each received a Dell computer and an HP printer as their awards.


Braedon Wuethrich and Noah Riedle 

Benjamin Rixstine


W. D. Boyce Council - Serving 14 counties in Central Illinois. Copyright 2021.      Login